A Different Opinion About the Channel Islands

Having just posted about the splendid sand in Jersey, it is interesting to see that in June 1903 Lizzie H did not feel quite the same way about the island.  In a postcard posted from Southampton on 11 June 1903, she wrote to Margaret Bishop in Ludlow, Shropshire:

Dear M

We think Guernsey far prettier than Jersey.  Love to all.

Lizzie R

The picture on the other side of this postcard can be seen here.

This entry was posted in Back - Divided, Printed Postcard, Topographical and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Different Opinion About the Channel Islands

  1. Some people still think it is the prettier of the two islands still today! I visited Guersney briefly once to visit the archives and thoroughly enjoyed my day there. I think Jersey is beautiful too, but maybe I am biased as that is my borthplace.
    Ps: I love the old postcards.

  2. Reminiscene says:

    Never having been to Guernsey, I couldn’t possibly say which is the prettier of the two islands. But I did have a fantastic week in Jersey back in the early 1990s. So much to see and do and not enough time to scratch the surface. Maybe it’s time I went back!

Leave a Reply

